Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421


    Yes Reputation No

    MSD80 to MSD81 N54 ECU upgrades

    I ran across this: https://www.n54exclusive.com/product-page/msd81-upgrade

    So basically it's saying is that the MSD80 has MOSFETs failures and upgrading to the MSD81 resolves this?

    I have no idea just sharing. Is this really just plug and play?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    902
    Rep Points
    1,026.6
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    I had mine switched to MSD81 too. I had to turn in a key and the CAS unit to be reprogrammed but that was it. I now have 2 vin numbers though, the original one for the car and the new one for the DME. Lavon did mine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Ericbh77 Click here to enlarge
    Lavon did mine.
    Who is Lavon?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    902
    Rep Points
    1,026.6
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Goes by Lavanime on the forums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    33
    Rep Points
    106.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    That's weird. I have the tools to synchronize the anti-theft too. It extract the full bin from the dme, which you can then edit to set the VIN you like, then it re-flash it with the anti-theft code you previously extracted from the old one or the CAS.

    Having 2 different VIN isn't recommended as some DSC control unit will refuse to work when they dont match.

    You're not getting any steering angle or DSC code from that ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    902
    Rep Points
    1,026.6
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    Nope. Everything runs fine. Jake H from Motiv did the installation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Ericbh77 Click here to enlarge
    Nope. Everything runs fine. Jake H from Motiv did the installation.
    Interesting. So plug and play?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    902
    Rep Points
    1,026.6
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    It was for me. If you need this done just email levanime@gmail.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    33
    Rep Points
    106.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Ericbh77 Click here to enlarge
    Nope. Everything runs fine. Jake H from Motiv did the installation.
    Well, if he has an autologic or some similar advanced scanner I can see how he could have overcome this.|

    It's not all chassis either that are sensible to this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Singapore / Wlimington
    Posts
    144
    Rep Points
    177.1
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    It’s sort of plug and play ... As long as the Isn between the cas and the Dme is the same it will be fine. So if you can rewrite the Isn of the Dme into the cas then even cas replament can be skipped.

    The vin can be straightened out ...don’t need to have 2 vins. Just change the vin on the Dme.

    that being said ... it’s easier to tune the msd80. It seems more forgiving when it comes to limiters.
    RBB@Codewerx

    Chart Crafting and Tuning - F Series OBD, MHD & JB4 BEF

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    A few more details for those that might be considering it:

    N54 Engine had two versions of computers.
    First one was MSD80 which is famous for its weaknesses
    1) MOSFETs
    2) PSUs on board (Power Supply Units, one per bank)

    When either of them fails, whole bank (1,2,3 or 4,5,6 Cylinders) misfires.
    This is when you get code 30BA for Bank 1 (1,2,3 Cylinders), Or 30BB for Bank 2 (4,5,6 Cylinders).

    The updated version of engine computer is MSD81, and it has no weak points, Comes with stronger MOSFETs and PSUs.

    We offer programming MSD81 instead of MSD80.
    We have MSD81-s in stock.

    To do this upgrade, You will need to send us:

    1) CAS module
    2) 1 working keyfob (without metal key)
    3) Injector numbers, so we code them to replacement DME.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    748
    Rep Points
    1,778.0
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Yes Reputation No
    Pretty much people swap to avoid the mosfet failure issues. My mosfets in cylinder 3 failed but I just sent the ecu to have all new mosfets since I'm going syvecs in march so it makes no sense to swap to 81
    Click here to enlarge

    Left hand on the steering wheel right hand on that RTD Shifter
    -2Chainz

    07 6spd TI ag E92

    Mods
    Boostbox, e85, RTD shifter, and a 6766
    #BuiltByHaborFreight

    Instagram Oss_Cah5

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Abacus38 Click here to enlarge
    since I'm going syvecs in march so it makes no sense to swap to 81
    Glad to see guys finally embracing Syvecs.

    It's expensive but you'll probably feel it is worth every penny.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    748
    Rep Points
    1,778.0
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Glad to see guys finally embracing Syvecs.

    It's expensive but you'll probably feel it is worth every penny.

    Most definitely I've been saving for it over the winter. The only question now is do I get a PI spacer kit or wait for the manifolds to come out.
    Click here to enlarge

    Left hand on the steering wheel right hand on that RTD Shifter
    -2Chainz

    07 6spd TI ag E92

    Mods
    Boostbox, e85, RTD shifter, and a 6766
    #BuiltByHaborFreight

    Instagram Oss_Cah5

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Abacus38 Click here to enlarge
    The only question now is do I get a PI spacer kit or wait for the manifolds to come out.
    Good question. I don't have an answer one way or the other.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    902
    Rep Points
    1,026.6
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11


    Yes Reputation No
    Might as well get the manifold and kill 2 birds with one stone.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    301
    Rep Points
    662.1
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    I once killed two stones with one bird.... it wasn't easy

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    285
    Rep Points
    1,110.3
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    There is group buy going on right now for the sheet metal intake with pi ports. There are options for the fueling kit too. Send line a good deal and the consensus is that the intake is pen decent quality. Stock location or forward facing tb available.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1
    Rep Points
    2.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Interesting ��
    pm’ed you julienjj

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    139,422
    Rep Points
    42,005.7
    Mentioned
    2444 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    421



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by younge60 Click here to enlarge
    Interesting ��
    pm’ed you julienjj
    You can now send PM's.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Georgia, Tbilisi
    Posts
    50
    Rep Points
    54.0
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    im here if anyone has any question

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    Rep Points
    9.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Hi guys, Just read the thread and I also just upgraded from MSD80 to 81. Everything is fine with the car, no lights, no issues, drives mint. However I noticed through the use of coding with the Bimmergeeks Protool app the DME still shows the donor cars vin. I didnt really care at first because there were no issues, but now I went to go get my MA inspection sticker and the states computer couldn't connect to my car. I went home and was able to successfully connect with INPA, Bavarian technic cable, but trying to use Torque or even trying protools again it wouldn't connect. Going further, I connected with MHD and hit flash back end flash and it says can't connect to DME, yet if I hit read codes it pulls a few codes and where it shows the info below it has VIN and CAS VIN showing full vin of donor car. For the record after I replaced the DME I flashed the 93 pump map for IJE0S and everything went fine, but again the file showed the donor vin again??

    Thats a lot of rambling and info but it basically comes down to I need to sync all the vins with my original. Can someone help write my vin?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    Rep Points
    9.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Please disregard the ridiculousness above, I recently upgraded to msd81 and the donor vin is still showing on the DME. I believe this is causing connectivity issues when I try to read plug in to the obd. Could you help me correct the vin on the msd81 and Cas unit?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    33
    Rep Points
    106.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Just reflash the DME with winKFP to stock while the "UIF update in comfort mode" checkbox enabled, then code with NCS expert. It will fix everything for the VIN in the DME.

    What are you using to load the tune in the DME ? bimmerboost app ?

    All cars should be able to work with the MSD81 otherwise, as bmw discontinued the MSD80 for obvious reasons.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2
    Rep Points
    0.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Did anyone get the obd port to read? I'm in tx sand need a inspection but the station can't read the car. I can't read the car with my cheap scanner unless I put the msd80 dme in.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •