Close

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 56
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    750
    Rep Points
    861.8
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ATP Click here to enlarge
    http://www.realoem.com/bmw/diagrams/f/r/284.pngDiagram so Sticky can edit out the link.
    Im going to go ahead and look like an idiot and ask: What are the #1's in the left of the diagram? I see the vacuum lines run to them, but i guess im not sure what it does.
    Click here to enlarge

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    622.8
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    I believe those are the vacuum canisters.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,483
    Rep Points
    32,156.3
    Mentioned
    2110 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Turkeybaster115 Click here to enlarge

    The diagrams are in the thread.
    Copy and paste...

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,483
    Rep Points
    32,156.3
    Mentioned
    2110 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ATP Click here to enlarge
    http://www.bimmerboost.com/images/im...2/10/284-1.pngDiagram so Sticky can edit out the link.
    My man.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,177
    Rep Points
    801.6
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Oh, okay. I thought there were more than that. For the 5 and 6's did you just replace with vacuum line or are they reusable tubes?

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Eric335 Click here to enlarge
    Im going to go ahead and look like an idiot and ask: What are the #1's in the left of the diagram? I see the vacuum lines run to them, but i guess im not sure what it does.
    As ATP said, those are vacuum canisters. Think of them as vacuum storage devices. Because of the turbos, you can't count on an endless supply of intake manifold vacuum, so the vacuum for the car is created by a pump. The pump can only create so much vacuum at a time, so some of it is stored in the canisters to be ready for your car to control the waste gates. That is why you see them connected to #4 (waste gate solenoids).

    Never fear looking like an "idiot" for asking a question. You have to learn somehow. The only idiots are people who scoff at others for asking questions.

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    750
    Rep Points
    861.8
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    As ATP said, those are vacuum canisters. Think of them as vacuum storage devices. Because of the turbos, you can't count on an endless supply of intake manifold vacuum, so the vacuum for the car is created by a pump. The pump can only create so much vacuum at a time, so some of it is stored in the canisters to be ready for your car to control the waste gates. That is why you see them connected to #4 (waste gate solenoids).

    Never fear looking like an "idiot" for asking a question. You have to learn somehow. The only idiots are people who scoff at others for asking questions.
    Thanks for info. I guess im still trying to learn this engine. Any good reading material that breaks down what is what?
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Eric335 Click here to enlarge
    Thanks for info. I guess im still trying to learn this engine. Any good reading material that breaks down what is what?
    This is pretty good info.

    http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38856

    @Sticky

    How about hosting these documents here? I can't attach all of them because of their size.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    622.8
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    This is pretty good info.

    *deleted link*

    @Sticky

    How about hosting these documents here? I can't attach all of them because of their size.
    My thoughts exactly. Maybe they can be attached with a new thread?

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,483
    Rep Points
    32,156.3
    Mentioned
    2110 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    This is pretty good info.

    @Sticky

    How about hosting these documents here? I can't attach all of them because of their size.
    How big are they? What file extension?

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    622.8
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    @Sticky. PDFs. 2 meet the size restriction, 2 don't. One is about 500MB and the other is around a GB.

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,483
    Rep Points
    32,156.3
    Mentioned
    2110 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ATP Click here to enlarge
    @Sticky . PDFs. 2 meet the size restriction, 2 don't. One is about 500MB and the other is around a GB.
    500 megs to a gigabyte pdf's? You sure? That sounds absurdly large.

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    622.8
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    500 megs to a gigabyte pdf's? You sure? That sounds absurdly large.
    You're right, I was going off memory and didn't even think about how stupid that sounded. 500kb-1mb. I think your limit is somewhere in the 400kb range.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    389
    Rep Points
    2.0
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Oh for pete's sake.......

    Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,483
    Rep Points
    32,156.3
    Mentioned
    2110 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ATP Click here to enlarge
    You're right, I was going off memory and didn't even think about how stupid that sounded. 500kb-1mb. I think your limit is somewhere in the 400kb range.
    Raised it to 3 megs, try now.

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    622.8
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Raised it to 3 megs, try now.
    Posted a new thread. Attachments are in there.

  17. #42
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    66
    Rep Points
    83.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    When you replaced all the lines, did you eliminate the factory joining connectors (#9 in the diagram)?

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    389
    Rep Points
    2.0
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jdb Click here to enlarge
    When you replaced all the lines, did you eliminate the factory joining connectors (#9 in the diagram)?
    No, those are solid plastic.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    7
    Rep Points
    12.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Great info. Thanks.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    okc
    Posts
    17
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    did this earlier today. only take 2 hours with removing Cowl and engine cover. I'm not even mechanically gifted. thanks for the link to the store.

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,177
    Rep Points
    801.6
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Doing this now. Did you guys replace the braided vacuum line to the DVs? The line material is different and I wonder if the braiding serves a purpose?

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    okc
    Posts
    17
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    i did because mine was kindda flaky already

  23. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,177
    Rep Points
    801.6
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Is there a quick test of line quality? While I agree they can be brittle over time, my lines appear to be nowhere near cracking. I am resistant to changing them if they are fine. Especially the actuator lines. How do you even reach them?

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    okc
    Posts
    17
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    you can use something like mighty vac to measure the vacuum. but it was so easy to do thati just did them all. which actuator lines are you talking about? i took my cowl and engine cover off and take the vacuum bracket off so i can score the house with sharp cutter and not brake the nipples.

  25. #50
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    254
    Rep Points
    328.3
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 335okc Click here to enlarge
    you can use something like mighty vac to measure the vacuum. but it was so easy to do thati just did them all. which actuator lines are you talking about? i took my cowl and engine cover off and take the vacuum bracket off so i can score the house with sharp cutter and not brake the nipples.

    Have you been drinking?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •